Lunedi Lunacy

So I was sitting here last night despairing – well perhaps not despairing but really wondering hard – about what I could post for Lunedi Lunacy. It’s been a few days since I’ve put anything up other than my hands in despair (and this time I mean it) at work. And that is one of the reasons that I’ve been MIB (Missing in Blogging) – work! What was suppose to be a three day work week has turned into five and a bit this week, five next and five the following.  So much for part-time!

But enough of my whinging – time for a bit of cheering up!  My friend Auld Hat had the habit of posting the occasional Russian cartoon on her old blog and they were always charming if a trifle sad and often very, very strange.  Last night when my FB friend Richard posted a musical cartoon by the now defunct Russian group Nol’ he described it in the same way:  rather charming the way Russian cartoons are, and a little sad.  He did miss out on the “strange” bit and I think this little gem qualifies for that adjective.

Nol’ was a rock group based out of St Petersburg in the 1980-90s and The Man and the Cat appears to have been one of their earlier hits. Not understanding Russian I looked up the lyrics and the cartoon has very little relationship to them other than there being a man, a cat and a medical man.  The group folded in 1992  when, from  what I can make out, Fyodor Chistyakov, the lead singer, tried to murder someone because she was a “witch”.  He spent some time in the infamous Kresty Prison and ended up in a psychiatric hospital.  When he was released he joined the Jehovah’s Witness and gave up his rock career.

Now how is all that for Lunedi Lunacy?

On this day in 1569: First recorded lottery in England.

Author: Willym

A senior with the heart of a young'un

6 thoughts on “Lunedi Lunacy”

  1. V interesting ! Given my current predicament I was half expecting Mr Magoo.
    JP

  2. I know Power Ball is worth 1.2 billion $$$. This is a great cartoon and so Russian in many ways. Always counting on you to find these little gems.

  3. One has to be so careful with superlatives, but this may be your best lunacy yet. From the history of poor Fyodor, to pink ladies with pubic hair dashing through the snow. (Will you give me a pass for ‘that’ detail? The eye spots what the eye spots.)

Leave a comment

A Beijinger living in Provincetown

Life of Yi Zhao, a Beijinger living in Provincetown, USA

Moving with Mitchell

Jerry and I get around. In 2011, we moved from the USA to Spain. We now live near Málaga. Jerry y yo nos movemos. En 2011, nos mudamos de EEUU a España. Ahora vivimos cerca de Málaga.

Writing Archives — Gregory Josephs

So Many Years of Experience But Still Making Mistakes!

Old Lurker

The mouthiest lurker you ever did see

following hadrian photography

I came, I saw, I photographed…

STRAITPOST

The Early Postcards of Prince Edward Island

Simon's World

Adventures in being me

Fearsome Beard

A place for Beards to contemplate and grow their souls.

Larry Muffin At Home

Remembering that life is a comedy and the world is a small town.

Sailstrait

Telling the stories of the history of the port of Charlottetown and the marine heritage of Northumberland Strait on Canada's East Coast. Winner of the Heritage Award from the PEI Museum and Heritage Foundation and a Heritage Preservation Award from the City of Charlottetown

Tangled Histories

So Many Years of Experience But Still Making Mistakes!

Isaac L. Stewart

Historian & Genealogist

Sooo-this-is-me

So Many Years of Experience But Still Making Mistakes!

domanidave.wordpress.com/

Procrastination is the sincerest form of optimism

Harper's Valley

Adventures in Hubris

lostpastremembered

So Many Years of Experience But Still Making Mistakes!

She Who Seeks

So Many Years of Experience But Still Making Mistakes!

Spo-Reflections

To live is to battle with trolls in the vaults of heart and brain. To write; this is to sit in judgment over one's Self. Henrik Ibsen

I'll think of something later

So Many Years of Experience But Still Making Mistakes!

YELLOWDOG GRANNY

So Many Years of Experience But Still Making Mistakes!

singer for all seasons

So Many Years of Experience But Still Making Mistakes!