Mercoledi Musicale

I’ve been talking to friends in Rome and a site that I’m on put me in contact with a chap in Parma (one of my favourite cities in Italy – oh who the hell am I kidding there wasn’t a city there I didn’t love!). I am happy to say that everyone I know there is safe and relatively sane*. However I digress – again.

Yesterday was the 2773rd birthday of Rome and to celebrate the day my friend Larry, who is a school teacher there, posted this video on Facebook. This version of E Io Te Amo (And I Love You) could be considered a bit of a love song to the hidden Roma – the video shows not the familiar tourist sites but the Rome I knew and loved: the back alleys and neighbourhoods. Composer-singer Emilio Stella posted it on April 21, 2015 on the birthday of his home town.

*They and my friend Mitchel and his husband in Spain have almost reached the biblically-inspired 40 days that was imposed on travellers in Medieval Venice so any new idiosyncrasies are more than forgivable.

The word for April 22 is:
Curmudgeon /kərˈməjən/ /kərˈmədʒən/: [noun]
1. An ill-tempered person full of stubborn ideas or opinions. (Often a person of more mature years)
2. A miser (archaic)
The word is attested from the late 1500s in the forms curmudgeon and curmudgen, and during the 17th century in numerous spelling variants, including cormogeon, cormogion, cormoggian, cormudgeon, curmudgion, curmuggion, curmudgin, curr-mudgin, curre-megient.
Spell it how you want, it’s how I’m feeling today.


Author: Willym

A senior with the heart of a young'un

5 thoughts on “Mercoledi Musicale”

  1. Well! You never showed me this interesting part of Rome. I guess I was a tourist wanted to see the tourist things. Next time I will get directions from you and Laurent as to where to go to see this interesting side of Rome. Who new you could sit on a hill and overlook St Peter’s. I am assuming that it is the Palatine Hill which I did not have time to go to. Bad Laurent.

Leave a comment

A Beijinger living in Provincetown

Life of Yi Zhao, a Beijinger living in Provincetown, USA

Moving with Mitchell

Jerry and I get around. In 2011, we moved from the USA to Spain. We now live near Málaga. Jerry y yo nos movemos. En 2011, nos mudamos de EEUU a España. Ahora vivimos cerca de Málaga.

Writing Archives — Gregory Josephs

So Many Years of Experience But Still Making Mistakes!

Old Lurker

The mouthiest lurker you ever did see

following hadrian photography

I came, I saw, I photographed…

STRAITPOST

The Early Postcards of Prince Edward Island

Simon's World

Adventures in being me

Fearsome Beard

A place for Beards to contemplate and grow their souls.

Larry Muffin At Home

Remembering that life is a comedy and the world is a small town.

Sailstrait

Telling the stories of the history of the port of Charlottetown and the marine heritage of Northumberland Strait on Canada's East Coast. Winner of the Heritage Award from the PEI Museum and Heritage Foundation and a Heritage Preservation Award from the City of Charlottetown

Tangled Histories

So Many Years of Experience But Still Making Mistakes!

Isaac L. Stewart

Historian & Genealogist

Sooo-this-is-me

So Many Years of Experience But Still Making Mistakes!

domanidave.wordpress.com/

Procrastination is the sincerest form of optimism

Harper's Valley

Adventures in Hubris

lostpastremembered

So Many Years of Experience But Still Making Mistakes!

She Who Seeks

So Many Years of Experience But Still Making Mistakes!

Spo-Reflections

To live is to battle with trolls in the vaults of heart and brain. To write; this is to sit in judgment over one's Self. Henrik Ibsen

I'll think of something later

So Many Years of Experience But Still Making Mistakes!

YELLOWDOG GRANNY

So Many Years of Experience But Still Making Mistakes!

singer for all seasons

So Many Years of Experience But Still Making Mistakes!