Oh Joy! Oh Rapture?

In which the oft prophesied “rapture” is spoken of in a less than serious vein.

TheEndIsNearWarningSign.jpg.638x0_q80_crop-smartIs it just me or are we taking these doomsday prophecies a little more seriously these days?  I’ve lost count of how many “end of the world” bulletins I’ve seen over my life time but I do remember my dear dad’s prophetic words when I first expressed fear as a young lad about one of these warnings:  the world ends for someone, somewhere every second of the day.  Hardly the fatherly comfort I was seeking but on serious thought very true.

Anytime I read that there will be that moment of rapture when true believers are sucked up into an eternal life of harp music and blinding light (not exactly enticements in my book but à chacun son goût) I am reminded of a brilliant sketch from Beyond the Fringe.  Unfortunately I was not able to find a video of the original quartet of Peter Cook, Dudley Moore, Jonathan Miller and Alan Bennett performing so had to make do with this one from “The Secret Policeman’s Ball” in 1979.

And who know we may someday we may really come up with a winner.

On this day in 1641:  The Merchant Royal, carrying a treasure of over 100,000 pounds of gold (worth over £1 billion today), is lost at sea off Land’s End.

Author: Willym

A senior with the heart of a young'un

7 thoughts on “Oh Joy! Oh Rapture?”

  1. Over the decades, if I’ve said ‘You’re speaking too low for the human ear, which is what I’m equipped with’ once, I’ve said it a zillion times. I’ve robbed ‘Beyond the Fringe’ blind. It’s appalling…

    1. Oh yes… Beyond the Fringe idioms spring out of my mouth constantly much to the puzzlement of many of my younger friends.

  2. I am reading this 23 September about 3PM local time which means I think it is already 24 Sept in Australia. In a way I am disappointed.

  3. I used to be afraid of the warnings but eventually I realized they just kept cycling back over and over. Meanwhile people seemed to be making money from panicked believers buying up the latest book or joining the latest religion. I saw a comedian joke once, that the day he dies is his armageddon and that’s the truth for all of us.

Leave a Reply

