Lunedi Lunacy and then Some

It is highly unusual for me to post two Lunedi Lunacies in one day but I really had no choice – the Lunacies just keep piling up!

I will admit that I am not a fan (gasp of disbelief from the crowd) of most of the cult series – GofT, Downtown Monastery, Hitchhickers Guide or (shudder, followed by a gasp of disbelief from same crowd) Doctor Who.  So I was a bit startled today when I read that there are people who are ranting and raving that the oft-morphing character of the good Doctor is to be played by a (eye-roll, shudder, and gasp of horror and disbelief from misogynistic crowd) … by a…. by a….  WOMAN!  I shake my head, roll my eyes, shudder, and gasp in horror and disbelief that this sort of announcement would solicit a negative response.  Or frankly any response at all but that’s another story.

Imagine then my delight to find that my favourite theatre troupe – SFSPT – has greeted the announcement with their normal saucy tongue in toe approach.

I share this particularly for my good friend Rainey on the West Coast.   And with special thanks to the SFSPT for putting the world back into perspective.

On this day in 1794: The 16 Carmelite Martyrs of Compiègne are executed ten days prior to the end of the French Revolution’s Reign of Terror.

Author: Willym

A senior with the heart of a young'un

9 thoughts on “Lunedi Lunacy and then Some”

  1. I sometimes worry you don’t have enough doggerel pastimes in your life.
    I am about two seasons behind in Dr. Who; it is jolly good fun, like eating a greasy diner dinner.

  2. Yes, the right-wing press over here have been frothing at the mouth, and the tedious column-inch-fillers (I’m told) are working overtime. It’s enough to see a selection of the attacks to have a good laugh. Especially as it is, as Urspo reminds us, only entertainment. But the message still matters, especially in this week when we find out how far the female TV presenters lag behind the men.

Leave a Reply

