Bloom’s Friday

boomsThe past few Fridays I’ve been walking amidst the blooms of Grandville and Delorde’s animated flowers.   However June 16 is Bloomsday, a day for a different type of walk for many people as they follow Leo Bloom’s day-long journey through Dublin.  I suggested to our friends Nora and Cathleen, who are currently there, that they go to Davy Byrnes Pub today completely forgetting that it will be packed with the faithful enjoying their Gorgonzola sandwich with a glass of burgundy.    I am still making my own pilgrimage through Ulysses itself – a journey that started last fall and seems to be taking more than a day – but I thought I’d have a mini-Bloomsday celebration.

Perhaps the most famous passage in the entire 265,000 word pilgrimage through the streets of Dublin and the minds of Leo Bloom and company is Molly Bloom’s rambling stream of consciousness that ends the journey.  I was hoping to find a reading of it by the great Siobhan  McKenna but came up empty-handed.

Here is Angeline Ball in Bloom, a 2004 adaptation of the novel, in the last portion of the monologue recalling how Leo Bloom proposed to her.

And should you wish to listen to the full passage Barbara Jefford performed it in the first movie version of Ulysses made in 1967.

On this day in 1911: IBM founded as the Computing-Tabulating-Recording Company in Endicott, New York.

 

Author: Willym

A senior with the heart of a young'un

6 thoughts on “Bloom’s Friday”

  1. You know, it only took me six years to make it through Moby-Dick so perhaps I should take on reading Ulysses now as a worthy successor. Any bets on how many years THAT one will take me?

  2. I have the unabridged Molly’s soliquoy on my phone. It never falls to help me fall asleep to put it on. and yes I said yes I will yes.

Leave a Reply

