Throwback Thursday

Willy Or Won't He

Jacek Goldman and his Sister Wanda, Krakw, 1924 Jacek Goldman and his sister Wanda. Krakw, 1924. “My mother Wanda Meloch (nee Goldman) was killed in Bialystok after the Germans invaded in the summer of 1941. Jacek left the Warsaw Ghetto to join the partisans and nobody ever heard from him again. I received this photograph from my family in New York.” Katarzyna Meloch, Warszawa

While attempting to clean up what I laughing call my office I knocked a box off a shelf – out tumble all the family photos I had found when I closed up my mother’s house. The photos I had promised myself I would scan and catalogue while there were still people around who could remember those faces and places. A well-intentioned task still not begun 10 years later.

That and a New York Times article about a photograph exhibition at the Yeshiva University Museum in New York had me turning to a bookshelf to…

View original post 323 more words

Author: Willym

A senior with the heart of a young'un

1 thought on “Throwback Thursday”

  1. It’s still so difficult to comprehend. And the hatred that still exists around the world is heartbreaking. My maternal grandfather grew up in Warsaw. He escaped (from being conscripted into the Russian Army, I’m told) to Portsmouth, England in the 1910s and then continued on to New York City where he stayed for the rest of his life. He sent money for his younger sister who arrived in New York around 1917 and soonas married and then died of the flu epidemic in 1918. His father refused to allow his other son to go to New York to, as he said, “die in a foreign land.” My grandfather’s mother died in the early 1930s (saved from the atrocities). His father kept in touch for quite some time but he could find no trace of them after the war ended. There’s a part of me that would like to go to Warsaw to see where my grandfather came from, but I don’t think I could handle the emotions, the heartbreak, and the anger.

Leave a Reply

