The Music of Good Friday

I originally posted this video I created on Good Friday in 2015. I believe the combination of Palestrina’s Reproaches and Josep Maria Subirachs’ design fit the mood and drama of the Good Friday.

Willy Or Won't He

Frequently on past posts I have spoken of the strong role that music played in Holy Week observances in my old parish of St Thomas.  From the Hosannas of Palm Sunday to the Hallelujahs of Easter Sunday it was music rich in both the traditional and the modern.  On Good Friday when the sanctuary was stripped of all ornaments, the redos hidden by a black drape, the clergy, acolytes and choir robed in black cassocks and the organ silent the words and music of the liturgy of the day took on a more important role.

Though much of the sung liturgy was restricted to plainsong the setting of the Improperia, central to the liturgy of Veneration, was varied and ranged from Stanford to Sanders to Vittoria.  However I don’t recall the Palestrina ever being sung.  Though Palestrina had been released from his job as cantor at the Sistine Chapel…

View original post 374 more words

Author: Willym

A senior with the heart of a young'un

2 thoughts on “The Music of Good Friday”

  1. About ten years ago while living in Ottawa, the church down the street from me advertised Good Friday mass to be entirely sung. I had been there before and knew they had some good singers, so I was eager to go. It never dawned on me that they wouldn’t use any of the people from their choirs. They had people who made me feel I could sing better than…. and I can’t sing.

  2. My mother used to sing every Good Friday in a chorale some sort of apropos music for the day.
    It was the Good Friday way to be. I miss that. But I got to hear lots of glorious music for the day this way.

Leave a Reply

