Lunedi Lunacy

I love the British Music Hall tradition and I love Kenneth Williams – so what could be more suiting to a Monday morning that Kenneth Williams doing an old Music Hall number?

Both were known for their double – sometime single – entendre and here they meet in this little ditty (oh grow up I said ditty) about a prize winning marrow.

Well I don’t know what you’re tittering at  but I find it’s a lovely tribute to horticulture (oh do give over I said horticulture!).

And this was what he was hymning so mellifluously:

Marrow-3
Weightlifter Jonathan Walker lifts the prize winning 54.3176863075 kilo (119 lb 12 oz) Giant Marrow from the 2012 Harrowgate Autumn Flower Show over his head.  O what a beauty indeed!

On this day in 1915: Typhoid Mary, the first healthy carrier of disease ever identified in the United States, is put in quarantine, where she would remain for the rest of her life.

Author: Willym

A senior with the heart of a young'un

5 thoughts on “Lunedi Lunacy”

  1. My grandmother used to entertain me with very saucy Vaudeville songs, as she found me the only enthusiastic audience in the whole family. (took me many years to figure aout all the nuances) Granddad was a lay reader in the Anglican Church, and a frequent participant and supporter of legitimate theatre, but much more proper and not prone to Vaudeville memories of London. Her favourite turn was the one about the Little Red Hen, but she was sometimes persuaded to do a rollicking Knees Up Mother Brown and ‘other songs and snatches’. Yes, I do miss Kenneth Williams. I guess one of the last gasps of the old school was Frankie Howerd.

Leave a Reply

