The Strength of the Mimosa

Traditionally on International Women’s Day I have presented the women in my life with a sprig of mimosa – real, when possible, or virtual through necessity.  It was a tradition I was introduced to during our time in Italy and one that I embraced willingly and enthusiastically.

And today I follow that tradition and present a feathery sprig of this small, seemingly fragile, yellow flower to all the women in my life.
mimosa-2017

I say “seemingly” because despite its delicate appearance the mimosa is known for its resilience and strength.  And to my mind it is the perfect flower to represent the many women in my life.  Thank you for being part of my life and allowing me to be a part of yours.  And with this sprig comes the wish that one day all women will be truly equal.

On this day in 1917: International Women’s Day protests in St. Petersburg mark the beginning of the February Revolution (February 23rd in the Julian calendar).

Author: Willym

A senior with the heart of a young'un

7 thoughts on “The Strength of the Mimosa”

  1. The women in my life would appreciate the kind of mimosa they drink on Sunday brunch, but this kind of mimosa is quite lovely.

    1. Fortunately Nora has never shown an interest in eating plant life – unless it is dead and rotting but that as they say is another story.

Leave a Reply

