The Traditions of Christmas – Christmas Pudding

christmas-puddingIn an exchange with my friend Jackiesue on Facebook today I was trying to explain the difference between a Christmas Pudding and a Christmas Cake. And why it wasn’t pudding in the way we think of it in North America.  As she said “English to American”.

I recalled that back in 2007 I had an entry about our own “Pudding” tradition.  Again this year I didn’t make my own – and I have lost that recipe that good King George loved so much.  However the PEI Humane Society was selling them and given the wonderful work that they do it I thought it was an excellent alternative. The lady who makes them told me that she used a recipe of her mother’s from the Second World War when rationing was enforced:  it has no beef suet, and reduced butter and sugar.

So for Jackiesue – I hope this clears up a bit of the very understandable confusion.  And I’ll let you know how it turned out.

Willy Or Won't He

Flaming Christmas Pudding

This will be the first year in over 40 years that there will be no plum pudding on the table as a climax to Christmas dinner. Even last year in Hong Kong our darling Diane arranged to have one especially for us. It was set aflame at the table and then enjoyed with great dollops of Custard Sauce.

There was a time when I would make my own and perhaps had I thought about it this year I could and should have. But that’s all in the conditional so no point dwelling. In fact there was a time I made Christmas Pudding as gifts – a change from Christmas Cakes but we always left those for our friend John to provide.

In amongst all the silly papers we’ve kept and brought with us to Rome I found the following letter that went with the puddings in 1989.

This pudding is…

View original post 617 more words

Author: Willym

A senior with the heart of a young'un

5 thoughts on “The Traditions of Christmas – Christmas Pudding”

  1. I love a good Christmas pudding when I can lay my hands on one! But no matter how good they might be, they will never be as good as the ones my Mom would make and serve with sauce on Christmas when I was small. Now I’m all overcome with nostalgia!

  2. You know I bet there’s somewhere in Charlottetown that would have a plum pudding for sale should you really want one. Say Loblaws or Sobeys? For me the most important part of plum pudding is hard sauce. Right?

  3. alas no pudding for me this year. We are traveling.
    I may stop anyway, it was a lot of work and in the end I am the only one who ate it.
    Pearls before swine.

Leave a Reply

