Seventh Inning Stretch

The days of our years are threescore years and ten;
and if by reason of strength they be fourscore years,
yet is their strength labour and sorrow;
for it is soon cut off, and we fly away.

Psalm 90:10

Well I guess that’s another milestone reached – as my friend (?) Rick reminded me earlier this week I am entering my eighth decade today.  That’s seventy years behind me.  Good lord that makes me one of those old farts I use to talk about when I was in my 60s!

baby-will

Well it’s been an interesting seven decades with its share of ups and downs, good and bad – but from what I can see it’s been a damn good run.  For a kid from the sticks with no education I’ve done pretty well – no fame and god knows no fortune to speak off but I’ve been lucky in so many things.  But most of all I’ve been fortunate in my family, my friends, my opportunities, and my experiences.  For that I thank each and every one of you.

Many versions of the verse I’ve quoted from Psalm 90 refer to it as being the Song of Moses and though he was far older and wiser than I, it is my hope that in the coming decade will be little labour and less sorrow that he suggests.   And that what labour or sorrow there is, and being life we can be assured there will be some, it will be balanced, no exceeded by rest and joy.  And I know that as it always has much of that joy will come from my family and friends.

And to end the rather – for me at least – strange metaphor of the title:  Play Ball!

On this day in 1960: The first episode of Coronation Street, the world’s longest-running television soap opera, is broadcast in the United Kingdom.

Author: Willym

A senior with the heart of a young'un

7 thoughts on “Seventh Inning Stretch”

  1. Wishing you a very happy birthday, Will! I’ve warned my younger friends to be careful what they say about my age. With any luck, they’ll one day be here, too.

  2. I will be following you into the participation of the 71st year of our lives next month, which explains why I used the term ‘boy’ last comment;-)
    Happy B’day!

  3. Du fond du coeur, très affectueuses pensées. You are a wonderful person and reading you is always a treat! Best wishes for your new year.

  4. I hope you had a great birthday. You certainly don’t look your age. As I always say, you are only as old as the men you feel – I just hope Larry is younger…
    JP

Leave a Reply

