Lunedi Lunacy

While leafing through the Guardian earlier today – if one doesn’t actually leaf through an online newspaper what exactly does one do? – I came across a review for Catherine Tate Live, a show that opened in London last evening. The headline referred to it as a “comeback” but to be honest I hadn’t realized she had left but then I also hadn’t realized that it’s been 10 years since her last TV series.

I have to admit I’m a Tate fan – reading the comments on the Guardian review it appears many out there aren’t – though not necessarily a fan of all her characters.  I still don’t get Nan Taylor or Derek Faye (yes dear its funny, dear, the first few times dear but dear….) but Lauren, Kate the irritating co-worker, Ray and Janice, and particularly Mrs Taylor-Thomas the Aga Saga Woman.  I’m not sure why she and her clan give me visions of Westboro and Richmond Road in Ottawa but there you go.

Apparently Tate got the idea for Mrs T-T when she was pregnant and a very very upper-middle class lady was extremely rude to her on Kings Road.

On this day in 1938: The Lions Gate Bridge (a National Historic Site of Canada) connecting Vancouver to the North Shore region, opens to traffic.

Author: Willym

A senior with the heart of a young'un

3 thoughts on “Lunedi Lunacy”

  1. She is very funny. But you forgot Valley Girl. You might also want to take a look on YOUTUBE at the skit she did at the Royal Variety Performance a few years ago. Apparently the Queen WAS amused.
    JP

  2. For me a little CT goes a long way. I know Tracey Ullman’s latest series was panned, but I found a lot of it much funnier.

Leave a Reply

