G’mar chatima tova גמר חתימה טובה

yom-kippur

To my friends and family who begin the observance of Yom Kippur this evening I wish you an easy fast and may you be inscribed in the book.

I found this passage from the observance that should apply not just to this “Sabbath of the Sabbath” but to every day of the year.

To those I may have wronged,
I ask for your forgiveness.
For those I may have helped,
I wish I could have done more.
For the many I neglected to help
I am truly sorry.
To those who helped me,
I am deeply grateful.

On this day in 1987: First public display of AIDS Memorial Quilt on the National Mall in Washington, D.C., during the Second National March on Washington for Lesbian and Gay Rights.

Author: Willym

A senior with the heart of a young'un

2 thoughts on “G’mar chatima tova גמר חתימה טובה”

  1. I never saw that statue on Merrion Square – what a hoot! Have you seen Maggi Hambling’s Oscar memorial at the back of St Martin-in-the-Fields? Or his Epstein-designed tomb in Pere Lachaise Cemetery (my favourite)?

    There are also happenings at Reading Gaol at the moment – Neil Bartlett read De Profundis there (wish I could have gone) and there’s an exhibition in what was his cell.

Leave a Reply

