Crossing Lines

I very seldom write about truly personal things on my blog other than in general terms as I’ve always felt there is a line that should not be crossed.  That line where too much information is given; the line where what is written could cause harm, offence or grief to another person; the line were your sharing becomes an invasion.  Perhaps at times the line has, depending on the topic, shifted but that line has always been there.   On the odd occasion when I may have crossed that line I have, I hope, realized it and gone back and changed or even deleted the entry.

My friend Sheryne shared this article from the New York Times on FaceBook the other day and I found it worth a read – though the author is writing specifically about her children in my mind it applies to anything you write for the world to see.  Perhaps I may keep it on hand as a gentle reminder when I am thinking of being a daredevil blogger and crossing that line.

A right click on the picture will take you to the article by Elizabeth Batos.

On this day in 1968:  Soviet Union-dominated Warsaw Pact troops invade Czechoslovakia, crushing the Prague Spring.

Author: Willym

A senior with the heart of a young'un

7 thoughts on “Crossing Lines”

  1. As you know, I tend to the indiscreet and J to the fiercely private. So I have a censor here at home who may err on the side of caution, but I’m often grateful for it.

  2. Funnily enough just before reading this post I’d been reading an article in today’s Sunday Times. It’s actually the reverse, how a mother – in this case Lynne Franks – was hurt by a piece her son wrote about her apparently awful parenting skills. I just hope my mother never reads my blog…
    JP

  3. The Elizabeth Batos piece is not quite ‘sobering’, but I can’t come up with better word. I still experience a pang of shame for having carried on once in a post about an oblique slight from another blogger. You can pull a post down, but you’ve already ‘exposed’ yourself, and in this case I was the prince of pettiness (lower case intended).

  4. Happy you enjoyed the article, Will. And that it sparked some familiarity for you. From the mom perspective, I understand the need to share, normalize, and reach out in a potentially very isolating experience. But you’re right, those lines must exist and we mustn’t forget the vast reach and the “foreverness” of the Internet.

Leave a Reply

