A Bit About the Glass Painter

This is for my friend Cris over at Travelosopher. She is a remarkable artist in her own right – painter, writer, animator and traveller, she created a family of monsters that my adopted nephew and niece love and have their mother tell them about repeatedly at bedtime.

Oldmansea_petrov
A finger-painted (literally) glass cel from Aleksandr Petrov’s The Old Man and the Sea.

I thought she, and my other readers, might enjoy this profile of Aleksandr Petrov who’s work I featured on Monday.  This was made when his The Old Man and the Sea was given the Oscar for animated feature in 2000.

On this day in 1791: The Priestley Riots drive Joseph Priestley, a supporter of the French Revolution, out of Birmingham, England.

Author: Willym

A senior with the heart of a young'un

5 thoughts on “A Bit About the Glass Painter”

  1. Wheeeee! Imagine, please, how MUCH this delights me! Thank you for writing such kind things about me and thank you more for gathering up more Petrov background. Everything’s googleable, now, but that also means … EVERYthing’s googleable and my poor little old school mind that really loves going to the source has some … um … trouble. Ha!

  2. I have still not seen the animated Old Man and the Sea. I really need to. Thanks for sharing this. His creations, on glass and with his fingers, and the animation that results, are pure brilliance.

Leave a Reply

