Sharing

Often in the past I have shared links to blog entries along with photos that I’ve taken at various places.  Sadly many of the blogs that I once shared have gone the way of all flesh – no that’s not the right word but you know what I mean.  However as I mentioned in a previous post my old (only in the sense of I’ve known her for a long time) blog buddy Elizabeth and her husband Kirk have added a blog/website to record some of their extensive research into history – family and general, good and bad.   I found the following posting fascinating and suggest giving it a read.  Just right click on the picture below to read the rest of

Tangled-Histories

The 64th Canadian Tulip Festival

This past weekend was the opening of the annual Tulip Festival here in Ottawa.  Some one million bulbs have been planted in beds along the Rideau Canal and in various sights throughout the city.   A brief story of the story behind the event and our close relationship with the Netherlands can be found here.  I hope to get a few shots to share for what will be possibly our last chance to see the glorious and colourful display.

And to start off and continue the tradition of photos shared here’s a few shots of a field of miniature tulips that were planted along the banks of the Rideau Canal near the house. Wisely as the temperature dipped to almost freezing (where’s you global warming now, Moses, where’s your global warming now* – said in an Edward G. Robinson voice) the tiny blooms stayed tightly closed.

tiny-tulips-1

tiny-tulip-2

Even they were shivering. But as a friend said the other day the cooler weather will make the tulips last longer.

On this day in 1975: Junko Tabei becomes the first woman to reach the summit of Mount Everest.

Author: Willym

A senior with the heart of a young'un

4 thoughts on “Sharing”

  1. Gorgeous photos and flowers. I miss garden tulips. But I don’t miss your cooler weather.

    I sure hope your global warming joke doesn’t get picked up as proof by a US Senator.

  2. It almost seems … brave for Canadians to have tulip festival in May – an idea based entirely on having been in Toronto in April. In snow. In freezing my ass off weather. If I were a Canadian tulip, I wouldn’t bother trying until … oh, July.

  3. PS. I thought the blog post was good, too (and would’ve left a comment, except for the part where I don’t know her and my comment was about her curiously sentimental slipping into advocating for the ‘romantic savage.’)

Leave a Reply

