Lunedi Lunacy

Continuing on what a bit of a tradition here – does three in a row indicate a tradition or just lack of imagination on my part – another British comedy great to start a Monday morning.  I have to admit that Rowan Atkinson is not one of my favourite comedians, I find his Mr Bean supremely annoying though the first Blackadder series was a classic, but he does take the mickey quite brilliantly here.  I particularly love those little flares of temper at poor Rajii.

 

 

On this day in 1916: The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland and the French Third Republic sign the secret wartime Sykes-Picot Agreement partitioning former Ottoman territories such as Iraq and Syria.

 

Author: Willym

A senior with the heart of a young'un

4 thoughts on “Lunedi Lunacy”

  1. This will be a comment on No. 2 in your series of 3, if you’ll pardon me. I realized, old as I am, and a fan of most ‘Anglo-phernalia’, I’m bound to have at least laid eyes on Frankie Howard in my time, but never experienced one of his routines until Oxford Union on YouTube yesterday. Scary thing is, his delivery is mine in most conversation: a half-dozen set-up remarks prior to the point, followed by umpteen deviations which may or may not ever lead back to the point. Mine aren’t orchestrated or rehearsed, just maddening.

    I cannot abide Rowan Atkinson, whose talents add to the body of evidence that, just because the Americans and the British both speak English, they are not the same species.

    1. Well you and I are of a mind with Atkinson – what saved Blackadder for me was his supporting casts – Brian Blessed, Stephen Fry, Miranda Richardson, Patsy Bryne, Tim McInnerny, Hugh (sigh) Laurie and of course Tony Robinson.

  2. Well, I’m a bit behind so will take your three in a row from the rear… so to speak. But I love Rowan Atkinson and especially Mr. Bean. Jerry, on the other hand, can’t manage 30 seconds. Thanks for the laugh! This video reminds me of many visitors to our charming Spanish town.

Leave a Reply

