If You Say So …..

So what exactly was that strange “unused” item I found on the top of the cabinet during our kitchen cull on Monday?   No one came close at guessing either here or over on Facebook though Dave had the right idea in his comment on the post.

It’s not a juicer, nor a nut grinder, and it doesn’t peel kiwi (really JP – peel kiwis????).  So what the heck does it do?  I think it’s better to show you than try to put it into words.

 

Now tell me you don’t just want and need one for your kitchen?

Addendum:  My friend Jim in Charlottetown made this interesting comment on FaceBook:

A man after my heart! I have one (family–Bxxxxxxy grandparents who were both born 1884, but likely got it from their parents)) item which is just as easily a head scratcher, if a bit older–all metal, no plastic. I was amazed the day that two near identical items appeared on Antiques Road Show in the ‘what the heck do we have?’ section, and a description of the use and a practical demonstration ensued. It looks fearfully dangerous and arcane like a medieval torture instrument but it has a simple and completely benign use. I must see if I can find it in the warrens and post a picture.

On this day in 1913: The audience at The Vienna Concert Society concert rioted during a performance of modernist music by Arnold Schoenberg, Alban Berg, Alexander von Zemlinsky, and Anton von Webern, causing a premature end to the concert due to violence; this concert became known as the Skandalkonzert.

Author: Willym

A senior with the heart of a young'un

15 thoughts on “If You Say So …..”

  1. Nope. Butter is made FROM cream. It isn’t the other way around. That contraption is just extracting some leftover whey and water from the butter. Buttery-milky liquid. There’s no way that can be comparable to fresh cream!

    1. Anna – see the note from my friend Jim… it’s not exactly a new thing – and I’ve been told the theory is that it forces the butter fat back into the milk. But then what do I know.

      1. Have you seen any of the people following the recent fad of putting spoonfuls of butter in their coffee? This reminds me of that! Apparently it helps them “evacuate” in the morning, among other purported benefits. Yeah, right.

      2. Must be an Italian thing…. and I bought this over 20 years ago so it predates the current fad. And it works for me so I’m happy with it.

Leave a Reply

