Mercoledi Musicale

There is so much wonderful Christmas music out there that it seems a shame that we are constantly inundated by the same melodies repeated over and over again. While listening to Dutch Radio the other evening this  old German folk carol came on. The fact that it was sung so beautifully by the much lamented tenor Fritz Wunderlich and the great Hermann Prey made it even more lovely .

O joy of joy,
Neighbors come and hear,
What marvel happened to me
As I was in the hills.
At the stroke of midnight
An Angel appeared to me
And sang an angel song
that filled my heart with joy.*

The angel said: “Rejoice all!
The Saviour is born.
At Bethlehem in the stable,
he has revealed himself.
The manger is his bed.
Go to Bethlehem to behold him.”
And as he thus said,
he flew away again.

I thought, “you must not tarry”,
So I left my sheep;
I took the quickest path
to the back of the stable.
I was almost blinded
by a bright light,
that seem to have no end
and pointed me to the stable.

I enter there in,
I watched a little while
I saw a few people
and a little child.
He had no warm bed
but lay on hard straw
and yet he had a beauty,
that no artist could paint.

*This is a very free translation with Google and my bad German but if translated literally I love the fact that this line reads: it gave laughter to my heart.  

On this day in 583: Maya queen Yohl Ik’nal is crowned ruler of Palenque.

Author: Willym

A senior with the heart of a young'un

3 thoughts on “Mercoledi Musicale”

  1. I love your musical bits, especially holiday ones, for they are quite refreshing from the cliche commonplace stuff one hears over and over.

Leave a Reply

