A Nightingale Sang

I’m not too sure what side of the political fence The Guardian is on  – hell I can’t make head nor tail of British politics these days – so I largely ignore their take on the world news but when it comes to interesting cultural features they have North American news websites beat hands down.

nightengale

Today (December 18) this beautiful watercolour (above) appeared in their book section.  The story behind it can be reached by left clicking on the picture.  It also includes a larger version of the piece itself – I only wish I had the £32,001 to make it mine.  Well who knows maybe Laurent was the one who bid on it as a surprise Christmas gift.

guardian-link

And as the lead up to Christmas they are also publishing a series of Cartoons for the 12 Days of Christmas.  Though of course technically speaking they should have started on December 25th through until January 6th but the quality of the art and the spirit of the holiday allows me to overlook the technicality.  Again a click on Axel Scheffler’s Santa (above) will take you to the series.

On this day in 1892: Premiere performance of The Nutcracker by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky in Saint Petersburg, Russia.

Author: Willym

A senior with the heart of a young'un

8 thoughts on “A Nightingale Sang”

  1. I hear tell Mr. T’s premiere was a flop and he went to his grave not knowing his ballet will become quite the hit.

  2. While I love the snowman, I must say the way the wise men is cropped ( at least on my iPad) before clicking on the post is a NSFW moment. Made me click on it.

Leave a Reply

