Throwback Thursday

In the past 38 years we have moved 12 times: sometimes entire households; other times bits and pieces; sometimes it’s been across oceans other times just to a new apartment upstairs.  Often we have been splitting up a household to two different destinations, sometimes consolidating two inventories into one.  With each move we vow that there will be less stuff come the next one – that has yet to happen but we can always hope.

We’ve now been in the one spot for over four years – a bit of a record I believe – but a move is looming on the horizon.  Our landlord has told us that come the late spring he plans to sell the apartment so I guess it would be best to start going through our treasures and winnow out the chaff.

My friend Spo over at UrSpo was talking about going through books a few days ago and I have to admit that, for me at least, getting rid of books is always a major challenge.  In the mad grip of “we have to downsize now because Spring is only seven months away” Laurent has been going through many of his books and carting them off to the local library. I have yet to join this barbaric culling frenzy but I know it must be done, though perhaps not with the urgency that has driven him to donate The History of Polish Military Aircraft (in Polish) to the unsuspecting library.

The problem is that when I start going through books I begin to thumb the pages, read a passage here or there, look at a picture or two and …. well there goes a day lost and with alarming frequency a book back on the shelf.

I looked back on a post I wrote as we began to pack up for the last move in 2011 and though there will be fewer CDs and books I can tell you there will be one book that will go back on the shelf and come with me in the next move.

On this day in 2007: Android mobile operating system is unveiled by Google.

Willy Or Won't He

When you have to pack up house and move once every three or four years it becomes more and more of a chore. As the years pass you accumulate what George Carlin use to call in his monologue “Stuff”. And if you’re like I am that stuff runs the gamete from Art to Ziploc bags with miscellaneous nuts and bolts in them. (I thought I was pushing it with that last one so I could do the A to Z thing until I found said Ziploc bags in our tool box earlier today!) And before every pack up comes the big “if you haven’t used it in the past two years get rid of it” movement.  And it started here yesterday.

Clothing of course make up a good part of the inventory but fortunately my weight loss has made it easier to pick out what will come to Canada…

View original post 833 more words

Author: Willym

A senior with the heart of a young'un

4 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday”

  1. Our loft is tiny – I cannot hoard but if we had a bigger place I’d definitely fill it. Get an empty box and take a big breath and fill it. Apparently its cathartic!
    JP

  2. throwing out or giving away books remains a pang of guilt for me. I want to keep them all like Fafner’s hoard. But I’ve learned to let go and keep only the most treasured .

Leave a Reply

